La Prohibition

paper 1.jpg
paper 1.jpg
paper 1.jpg

Prohibition: The Golden Age of Bootleggers

Before Prohibition

With the advent of the Canadian Confederation, the Governments were faced with problems brought about by the dual social aspect of alcohol. Being both a commodity of choice for socialization for some and a nectar of immorality according to the values of others, it was difficult for political authorities to take a stand in this debate. In the face of these conflicting views and being aware of the number of failures in trying to prohibit the use of this beverage, the Canadian Government passed a bill leaving to the Communities the choice to prohibit or tolerate alcohol consumption. That is how was sanctioned the Canada Temperance Act in 1878 that gave the right to local governments to prohibit the sale of alcohol where a referendum demonstrated that a majority of citizens were in favor of this measure.

Such being the case, while the First World War was in full swing and that the temperance movements supported by believers of Christian morality were making themselves heard, the Governments had no choice but to opt for prohibitive measures. It is to this effect that an act prohibiting alcohol came into force in 1917 in New Brunswick and a federal act came into force in 1918.

Similarly, with the ratification of the 18th Amendment, the United States also entered in a prohibitionist regime in 1920. With the prohibition of alcohol in most parts of North America, alcohol smuggling networks flourished, which made Prohibition the golden years for bootleggers. "Bars are empty and basements are full." That was the situation in the Madawaska County which had acquired the reputation of being the "bootleggers' promised land" in the 1920's. In tact, astride a "wet" Quebec and a "dry" Maine while being at the same time the home of an important railway hub and portal of the Maritime Provinces, the county had become a popular route for alcohol smugglers. 

After Prohibition

Observing the failure of the attempts to prohibit the use of alcohol, the Government of New Brunswick fell into step with other Canadian Provinces in 1927 by nationalizing the commerce of intoxicating beverages. Therefore, alcoholic beverages were available in designated stores and controlled by the New Brunswick Liquor Control Board.

The repeal of the Prohibition did not mark the end of the temperance movements. In fact, the Sacred Heart League and Le mouvement Lacordaire continued their battle against the "demon" of alcohol. However, after having starting to weaken during the 1960's in a changing society where alcoholism was beginning to be perceived more as an illness rather than as a behaviour deviation, the said temperance movements disappeared in the Madawaska county during the 1970's. Nowadays, alcohol smuggling is talked about as regional point of reference, being one of the components giving the Madawaska county its identity.

In particular in the Saint-Hilaire parish, the Prohibition era has been recognized as a proof of this phenomena. In fact, a large part of the built heritage commemorates the importance of the prohibitionist era in the shaping of the community. For example, the popular story goes that the church and the rec-tory were built largely with the contribution of smugglers during the Prohibition era. 

1/10
Baril Medium Top.jpg

bagosse

With the advent of the Prohibition, the demand for illicit spirits increased significantly. The production of this home-brewed spirit consisted in boiling in a still the product obtained from a mixture of water, sugar, yeast and other produce that had previously been fermented. A correspondent from the local newspaper Le Madawaska described the process in these terms:

[...] in a primitive sugar shack at the far end of a sugarbush, a somewhat sugary mixture, cereal malt, molasses, corn syrup is being fermented by adding some yeast; when completely fermented, the liquid is distilled in a still, large or small, to obtain a concen-trated alcohol.

La Prohibition

La prohibition : L’âge d’or des bootleggers

Avant la Prohibition

Dès l’avènement de la Confédération canadienne, les gouvernements se virent confrontés aux problèmes qu’entrainait la double dimension sociale de l’alcool. Étant à la dois une marchandise de prédilection pour la sociabilité des uns et un nectar d’immoralité conformément aux valeurs des autres, il fut difficile pour les autorités politiques de se positionner dans le débat. Devant les divergences d’opinions et constatant des tentatives avortées de prohiber ce liquide, le gouvernement canadien adopta un projet de loi visant à laisser le soin de prohiber ou de tolérer l’alcool aux localités. C’est ainsi que fut sanctionné l’Acte de tempérance du Canada en 1878 qui permettait de prohiber l’alcool dans une localité où la tenue d’un référendum démontait qu’une majorité des citoyens de l’endroit étaient pour cette mesure.

 

Cela dit, alors que la Première Guerre mondiale battait son plein et que les mouvements de tempérance soutenus par les adeptes de la moralité chrétienne se faisaient plus bruyants, les gouvernements furent contraints d’opter pour des mesures prohibitives. C’est en ce sens qu’une loi prohibant l’alcool entra en force en 1917 au Nouveau-Brunswick et qu’une seconde loi de portée fédérale entra en vigueur en 1918.

 

L’alcool étant prohibé dans la majeure partie de l’Amérique du Nord, les réseaux de contrebande d’alcool se multiplièrent, ce qui fit de la Prohibition l’âge d’or des bootleggers. « Les bars sont vides et les caves sont pleines. » Voilà ce qui représentait bien la situation de Madawaska qui s’était gagné la réputation d’être la « terre promise des bootleggers » dans les années 1920. En effet, étant à cheval entre le Québec « mouillé »et l’État du Maine «sec » tout en étant doté d’un carrefour ferroviaire important pour être la porte d’entrée des provinces maritimes, le comté était alors devenu un lieu de passage privilégié pour les trafiquants d’alcool. De même, avec la sanction du 18e amendement, les États-Unis entrèrent également dans un régime prohibitionniste en 1920. 

Après la Prohibition

Constatant l'insuccès des tentatives visant à prohiber l'alcool, le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick emboîta le pas dans le même sens que d'autres provinces canadiennes en 1927 en nationalisant le commerce des boissons enivrantes. Dès lors, la vente de boissons alcooliques se fit dans des magasins assignés et dirigés par la New Brunswick Liquor Cortrol Board.

L'abrogation de la Prohibition ne marqua toutefois pas la fin des mouvements de tempérance. En effet, la Ligue du Sacré-Cœur et le mouvement Lacordaire poursuivirent la lutte contre le « démon » de l'alcool. Cependant, après avoir commencé à péricliter au cours des années 1960 dans une société changeante où l'alcoolisme commençait à être davantage perçu comme une maladie qu'un écart de comportement, lesdits regroupements de tempérance disparurent au Madawaska au cours des armées 1970. Aujourd'hui, la contrebande d'alcool est reléguée au rang de référent régional où elle fait partie des éléments définiteurs de l'identité madawaskayenne.

Notamment dans la paroisse de Saint-Hilaire, l'époque de la Prohibition jouit d'une reconnaissance révélatrice de ce phénomène. En effet, une large partie du patrimoine bâti de l'endroit commémore l'importance de l'époque prohibitionniste dans le façonnement de la communauté. Par exemple, l'histoire populaire de la région rapporte que l'église et le presbytère de l'endroit furent construits largement avec la contribution de contrebandiers au moment de la Prohibition.

1/10
Baril Medium Top.jpg

La bagosse

Avec l’avènement de la Prohibition, la demande pour de l’alcool frelaté augmenta de manière significative. La production de cet alcool artisanal consistait à faire bouillir dans un alambic le produit d’un mélange d’eau, de sucre, de levure et d’autres denrées qui avaient préalablement fermenté.

 

Un correspondant du journal régional Le Madawaska décrivait le processus en ces termes :

 

 

[…] dans une primitive cabane à sucre au fond d’une érablière, on fait fermenter une matière sucrée quelconque, malt de céréale, mélasse, ou sirop de blé d’Inde, en y ajoutant un peu de levures; ensuite lorsque la fermentation est terminée, on fait distiller le liquide dans un alambic, grand ou petit, pour obtenir de l’alcool concentré.