Maxime Albert

Maxime Albert: Smuggler or businessman?

Maxime Albert et Fortunat Pelletier.jpg

Maxime Albert

Maxime Albert was born in the parish of Saint-Hilaire in 1871. After having started out in the agricultural industry, Albert expanded his business to the food and hotel industry and to the sales of soft drinks. Owner of the Royal Hotel in Saint-Hilaire and of the Long Lake Sporting Cub in Saint-Agatha in the State of Maine, Maxime Albert quickly became one of the most prosperous businessman in his parish.

Maxime Albert and Alfred J. Lévesque

Born in Frenchville, Maine in 1893, Alfred Levesque made his home in Saint-Hilaire where he rubbed shoulders and did business with Maxime Albert. He then moved to Riviere-Bleue in the Province of Quebec where he became owner of a hotel, a restaurant, a general store, a barber shop and a soft drink plant-Levesque did not thrive in a small business environment and he had an imaginative smuggler's mind. His exploits had won him the reputation of being a nervy smuggler. In the 1920's, Levesque made front page news, among others, for having hi-jacked a train in order to cross a cargo of alcohol into the United States. Similarly, he again made the top stories in 1924 for having initiated a blockade of approximately 400 smugglers in Sully to prevent the arrest of one of his associates.

 

In collaboration with his colleague Antonio Graveline of Levis, Alfred Levesque engineered one of the greatest alcohol smuggling network towards the United States and originating in the Province of Quebec. No fewer than 10 vessels were importing spirits from Newfoundland and Saint-Pierre et Miquelon for their ventures. Levesque was also distilling his own alcohol at his summer residence in Notre-Dame-du-Lac; illicit spirits that he distributed fraudulently using the labels of renowned companies.

 

After a mandate for his arrest had been issued in 1933, Levesque surrendered himself to the Palais de Justice de Quebec where he was tried and sentenced to the penitentiary in 1934. The dismantling of Levesque's smuggling network and the repeal of the majority of Prohibition Laws in Canada and the United States in the 1920's and 1930's marked the end of the Bootleggers' Golden Years in Eastern Canada.

Maxime Albert

Maxime Albert : Contrebandier ou homme d'affaire?

Maxime Albert et Fortunat Pelletier.jpg

Maxime Albert

Maxime Albert naquit dans la paroisse de Saint-Hilaire en 1871. Après avoir initialement œuvré dans le domaine de l’agriculture, Albert étendit ses affaires aux secteurs de la restauration, de l’hôtellerie et de la vente de boisson gazeuse. Propriétaire du Royale Hotel à Saint-Hilaire et du Long Lake Sporting Club à Saint-Agathe dans l’État du Maine, Maxime Albert ne tarda pas à devenir l’un des hommes d’affaires les plus prospères de sa paroisse.

Maxime Albert et Alfred J. Lévesque

Né à Frenchville dans l’État du Maine en 1893, Alfred Lévesque s’établit à Saint-Hilaire où il côtoya et fit affaire avec Maxime Albert. Il emménagea par la suite à Rivière-Bleue dans la province de Québec où il en vint à détenir un hôtel, un restaurant, un magasin général, un salon de barbier ainsi qu’une brasserie de boisson gazeuse. Lévesque ne faisait pas dans le petit commerce et son imagination de contrebandier était fertile. Ses coups d’éclat lui avaient d’ailleurs fait gagner la réputation d’être un contrebandier à « l’audace inouïe » Dans les années 1920, Lévesque avait entre autres fait la une des journaux pour s’être emparé d’un train afin de traverser une cargaison d’alcool aux États-Unis. De même, il fit à nouveau les manchettes en 1924 pour avoir édifié un blocus d’environ 400 contrebandiers à Sully pour s’interposer à l’arrestation de l’un de ses associés.

 

En collaboration avec son collègue Antonio Graveline de Lévis, Alfred Lévesque mit sur pied l’un des plus grands réseaux de contrebande d’alcool en direction des États-Unis à partir du Québec. Plus d’une dizaine de vaisseaux travaillaient à importer l’alcool de Terre-Neuve et des îles Saint-Pierre et Miquelon pour leur commerce. Lévesque distillait également son propre alcool à sa maison de Notre-Dame-du-Lac; un alcool frelaté qu’il distribuait frauduleusement sous l’étiquette de compagnies renommées.

 

Après qu’un mandat d’arrêt ait été émis contre lui en 1933, Lévesque se livra de lui-même ai Palais de justice de Québec où il fut jugé et condamné au pénitencier en 1934. Le démantèlement du réseau de contrebande de Lévesque et l’abrogation de la majorité des loisirs prohibitive au Canada et aux États-Unis au cours des années 1920 et 1930 marquèrent la fin de l’âge d’or des contrebandiers à l’Est du Canada.