A museum in a heritage building

Museum in the time of prohibition...

House of Maxime Albert

The house of 1895 was the family residence of Maxime Albert. It is a good example of vernacular architecture from the Maritimes during this period. Maxime Albert is said to have been at the head of a major alcohol smuggling network. At that time, Maxime Albert would have even dealt with famous characters such as Al Capone and Sam Bronfman. Being a very influential businessman, Maxime Albert was very generous to his community. He donated land for the construction of the presbytery and is also said to have contributed financially to the construction of the village church.

This house represents the unusual history of the village of Saint-Hilaire. It is a true symbol of the golden age of its community. In 1979, the municipality of Saint-Hilaire acquired the site in order to ensure its conservation. Renovations were carried out, respecting vintage building practices between 1980 and 1985. The Maxime-Albert complex was the site of municipal meetings in the 1980s.

The village of Saint-Hilaire invested with New Brunswick Heritage more than $ 50 000 in the restoration of the house in 2016. During the construction, the workers encountered numerous complexities with the exterior walls. These walls had guarded selfishly a secret that only thorough scrutiny was able to divulge. However, these olden walls gave an account of the original construction; a memoire that revealed how the insulation was fashioned with birch bark and old handmade nails, made to last a lifetime. The unconventional structure, bearing a resemblance to a barn with its enormous beams and old wooden pegs, would furthermore give a sense to this entire story. The unique customs of this period, as intriguing and bizarre as it sounds was, for example, to leave a little shoe of a girl within the walls to rid the house of evil spirit. The everyday habits that included little packs of seven cigarettes that looked nothing like what we know today, or even the consumption habits of either the tasty and very old JONH DE KUYPER & SON gin or a little cognac from Paris. Drinking "Sanka" coffee in the morning while reading the news of the latest death of the honorable Sir John McDonald, the old Madawaska paper, or a publication printed by J. D. Gaudet was part of the morning routines. Each of these slight historical accounts merge as one to only compose a miniature section of the entire history of Maxime Albert. The Historical Society will attempt, over the next period of time, to thoroughly comprehend each and every artifact and bestow the true identity of this house. 

Until then, an abundance of work remains to be completed, but it is with great pride that this house, being over a hundred years old, is taking back its rightful place amongst our past, present, and our future.  

Maxime Albert et Fortunat Pelletier.jpg

Artifacts found in the walls of the Maxime Albert complex

Sir Fred Lévesque and Sir
Maxime Albert

Businessman

IMG_6918A.jpg
Visiting time
from Monday to Friday
8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Out of season :
Group reservation:

festivaledelabagosse@gmail.com

Where
by phone at 733-1525

Museum open all summer with exhibition under the theme:

 

  • Prohibition

Un musée dans un édifice patrimoinial 

La maison de 1895 était la résidence familiale de Maxime Albert. Elle est un bon exemple d’architecture vernaculaire des Maritimes de cette époque. Maxime Albert aurait été à la tête d’un important réseau de contrebande d’alcool. À cette époque, Maxime Albert aurait même transigé avec des personnages célèbres tels Al Capone et Sam Bronfman. Homme d’affaires très influent, Maxime Albert était très généreux pour sa communauté. Il donna un terrain pour la construction du presbytère et aurait également contribué financièrement à la construction de l’église du village.

Cette maison représente l’histoire peu commune du village de Saint-Hilaire. Elle est un véritable symbole de l’âge d’or de sa communauté. En 1979, la municipalité de Saint-Hilaire acquiert les lieux afin d’en assurer la conservation. On y fait des rénovations en respectant les pratiques de construction d’époque entre 1980 et 1985. Le complexe Maxime-Albert a été l’hôte de réunions municipales dans les années 1980.

Le village de Saint-Hilaire a investi avec Patrimoine Nouveau-Brunswick plus de 50 000$ dans la restauration de la maison en 2016. Lors de la mise en chantier, les ouvriers ont eu des discussions très musclées avec les murs extérieurs de la maison. Ces mêmes murs avaient englouti, bien gardés au creux de son abîme, des secrets conservés jalousement. Si les murs nous racontaient, ils pourraient, probablement, nous parler de la construction d’origine, celle qui a été isolée avec l’écorce de bouleaux, de vieux clous faits à la main avec une durée de vie équivalente à ses vieux murs. Ils pourraient nous parler de sa structure non conventionnelle, qui ressemble à celle d’une grange avec ses énormes poutrelles et ses vieilles chevilles de bois qui en assuraient l’assemblage.  Des coutumes de ses anciens habitants, avec l’unique chaussure de jeune fille laissée entre ses « entrailles » pour éloigner les mauvais esprits. Les habitudes du quotidien, le petit paquet de sept cigarettes qui ne ressemble en rien à ce que l’on connaît aujourd’hui, les habitudes de consommation, le bon et très vieux gin JONH DE KUYPER & SON ou encore un petit cognac en provenance de Paris. Prendre son café « Sanka » en faisant la lecture des nouvelles du matin concernant le décès regretté très honorable sir John McDonald, ou celui d’un vieux journal le Madawaska ou une publication imprimée par J. D. Gaudet, imprimeur de l’époque. Ce ne sont que quelques indices qui ne demandent qu’à être examinés sous toutes les coutures. On tentera, au cours des prochains mois, années, d’extraire un sens de ces artefacts qui ont été découverts et qui pourront faire partie de la prochaine exposition du musée sur la prohibition

.

D’ici là, beaucoup de travail reste à faire, mais c’est avec fierté que cette maison plus que centenaire reprend ses droits.

Artefacts retrouvés dans les murs du complexe Maxime Albert

Monsieur Fred Lévesque et
Monsieur Maxime Albert

Hommes d'affaires

Heure de visite
du lundi au vendredi
de 9 h à 16 h
Hors saison :
Réservation de groupe :
festivaledelabagosse@gmail.com
ou
par téléphone au 733-1525

Musée ouvert tout l’été avec exposition sous le thème :

 

  • La prohibition

Musée au temps de la prohibition...

Festival de la Bagosse

festivaledelabagosse@gmail.com

Saint-Hilaire

Communauté rurale de Haut-Madawaska

  • Grey Facebook Icon

Écrivez-nous

Festival de la Bagosse créer avec wix.com